Phillip smashes Flying 200 record again

Posted: May 12, 2013 by JonoShmono "SykOse. Live. Extreme." in Bike, Track cycling
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Njisane Phillip left a serious mark on the Arima Velodrome 450-metre concrete track on Friday night—a scorching new Flying 200 record for the venue of 10.707 seconds at the Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation’s (TTCF) National Track Cycling Championships.

The small crowd supporting national Elite, Ladies and Juniors competing for the title of 2013’s best were left stunned as Phillip, riding for RigTech Sonics, barrelled off the curve into the home straight in a smooth finish, only for the announcer to belt out the new record.

The time eclipsed Phillip’s own mark of 10.720, set back in 2011.

Arimian Quincy Alexander, 19, of Team DPS was also impressive. He clocked 10.798 in the venue little more than a stone’s throw from his home, marking the first time two T&T riders have ducked under 10.8 seconds at the Velodrome.

But the night belonged to Phillip, as he won the battle of the two fastest riders in the best-of-three match sprint final, cruising home at the first two opportunities.

Leading first, Phillip let out a burst of speed from 250 metres out on the second lap in their first duel, and in the second, he powered over the top and past Alexander before the 200m mark, and edged out his younger rival.

Alexander’s DPS teammate, Haseem McLean took home sprint bronze, twice getting the jump on Azikiwe Kellar (Team Testi Cicli)–who clocked 11.066 in the Flying 200 to McLean’s 11.371—to polish him off in two rides.

In the semifinals, Phillip easily cruised home against McLean. But Alexander did not have it that easy against Kellar, despite beating him in two rides. It took a photo finish to separate the duo on the first ride, with only 0.009 seconds between them. Alexander only just managed to hold Kellar off by a tyre in the second contest.

The quarterfinals saw Phillip whip Jonathan Harding (Madonna Wheelers) in a single ride, while Alexander beat Keron Bramble (Sonics). Kellar had his way against Jude Codrington (Petrotrin), while McLean got the better of Kwesi Browne (Arima Wheelers), catching the inexperienced young cyclist napping early in the second lap.

Also in winners’ row on Friday was Jodi Goodridge (Arima Wheelers), who beat Kerliann Wellington (Bike Smith) in two rides to take the Elite Women’s match sprint.

Goodridge clocked 13.222 in the Flying 200, but that was only after 15-year-old Keiana Lester (Bike Smith) blazed the track to lower her own Velodrome Junior record from 13.209 to 13.198.

Wellington clocked 13.408 in the Flying 200, and Junior Aziza Browne (Arima Wheelers) hit the tape at 13.265.

Among the Junior men, Justin Roberts (Team DPS) won the sprint final, beating Samuel Mahabir (Arima Wheelers) in two easy rides.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s